Skip to content

More major life moves

April 25, 2011

It’s been an absolute whirlwind of a few weeks. Now that my head has slowed to a mild spin, I can share some exciting updates. If you recall, a few weeks ago, I endured a superhuman’s attack in which I was asked what my career plan was. As I mentioned, I’d been considering a few options – all significant career shifts. And I’ve finally decided…and accepted a new job!

I’m actually returning to an agency where I was previously employed, but rather than public relations, I’ll be focusing on strategic development and creating content for clients’ websites and social media networks. In short, it’s a much more creative position, with new challenges, in a place whose culture is a complete 180-degree spin from my current (maddening) workplace. Where the employees work hard and are happy. And get along. And have lives outside of the office. Amazing.

On top of the career change and wedding planning (because that’s clearly not enough on my plate!), I’ve begun running. I’m in week #3 of a six-week “couch to 5K” plan, and I’m having a great time, despite aching legs and constant exhaustion. Having a goal and plan motivates me to get to the gym or the trails and push myself, and I love the zoning out that running encourages. It’s forced relaxation, which sometimes I need. I’m planning for 5K races in June and July, then a 10k in November, eventually working up to a half marathon and – who knows – maybe even a marathon some day!

In my three weeks of running, I’ve already realized the importance of a running shoe that fits and cushions the foot properly. I’m heading to a store tomorrow where the salespeople actually put you on a treadmill and analyze your stride, posture, foot position and a whole slew of other factors contributing to foot comfort and health. I’m a little anxious about the sneaker they’ll “prescribe” me.

When I was little, I had to wear hideous little Orphan Annie corrective shoes, because one of my feet turns in ever so slightly when I walk. I remember being at the shoe store, yearning for the cool shoes the other girls were trying on, only to be handed a shoebox of disappointment. (To this day, I attribute my shoe obsession to my early years.) So I have a little hesitation about this. While the staff at this store is very knowledgeable about running shoes, I may have to ignore their recommendation if it involves large, white orthopedic sneakers.

Those could seriously take the recent spring out of my step.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. DebbieG permalink
    April 25, 2011 2:18 pm

    I’m sure your Mother took extra special care in choosing “fashionable” orthopedic shoes for you.

  2. BridetoBe permalink
    April 25, 2011 2:19 pm

    That’s not how I remember it!

Trackbacks

  1. Anger, hurt and other revelations « preaisleadventures
  2. Phase #2 of wedding planning, or how the Dirty South, Groupon and rice milk are playing into the big day « preaisleadventures

Leave a Reply

