Skip to content

Attack of the superhuman

April 5, 2011

Today, I endured the test that occasionally presents itself to all of us, the conversation that makes you question everything. The attack of the superhuman.

I was on my way to New York City for a shoot with an executive from my company, an accomplished doctor, national spokesperson, mother and wife. But that’s not all, as I learned. As we drove toward the city, she casually asked, out of nowhere, “So, what’s your goal? What’s your plan?”

She may as well have asked me why the sky is blue. It’s not that I lack ambition. I’m just not yet sure what my next step will be. Ask me today, and I’ll say I want to remain in public relations but advance my career by focusing more on strategic development. Tomorrow, I’ll likely respond that I’m considering returning to school to get my master’s degree and teach English literature at the college level. Next week, I’ll probably be contemplating becoming a psychologist. I have a lot of interests, and there is a lot I want to do.

I told her all this, ending with, “Right now, I’m focusing on the wedding. Once that’s over, I plan to figure it out.”

“What about you?” I asked her, in an attempt to get the subject off me and my failure to life plan.

“I’ve known since I was a child that I want to work in international medicine, helping underdeveloped countries develop sustainable primary care systems.” Of course she has.

“I also really want to work on my second novel.”

There was a first? Yep. A piece of fiction focusing on women’s rights in her native country.

“I have a rough outline of the second one, but really want to flesh it out,” she continued. “Then I want to write my memoir.”

Did I mention she also founded an HIV awareness organization for young women? And that she’s gorgeous? And that I just had a birthday, typically a sensitive time for me in which I contemplate exactly the question she asked me???

I had fallen prey to the superhuman.

This rare breed of human has the power to make us successful people feel like total slouches. They are big-time achievers and seemingly require no food or sleep. They can work non-stop for hours on end and remain alert and witty. They thrive on success and acclaim. They remain a true mystery to those who do not possess their power.

I immediately resorted to old habits and began criticizing myself for not having things more together at 31. Then I stopped myself and thought about my current life. I’m successful in my very demanding work. I write a blog. And a style column. I’m planning a wedding. I maintain an active social life with my many friends. I practice yoga. I work out regularly. I may not have a ton of awards hanging on my wall or earn six figures a year (yet), but I’m happy and healthy and have the freedom and means to choose my next path.

When I’m ready.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    April 6, 2011 7:18 pm

    You crack me up. Your writing is brilliant!

Trackbacks

  1. More major life moves « preaisleadventures

Leave a Reply

