Skip to content

My big break in Vegas

February 20, 2011

The past few weeks have been pretty hectic. I had a load of time-sensitive work to do the week before last (and heaven forbid I was given any help), then was in Las Vegas last week for a social media conference. The conference ended up being my saving grace. Before boarding the plane to go, I was on my last, frayed nerve and had just endured a week of exhaustion and panic attacks.

There had been work stresses, I was having trouble staying motivated in my quest to get healthier (I gained three pounds the week before despite staying “on point” on Weight Watchers); my workouts weren’t happening; I found out I was getting less back from my tax return than expected (translation: less wedding funds); I was worried about the migraines my fiancé has been experiencing for the past month; and I was growing increasingly frazzled by wedding costs and coordination.

Vegas and the surreal, chaotic surroundings it offered me for three days ended up restoring my sanity. Ironic, right? But I’ve realized why:

  1. I took it easy on myself. Instead of criticizing everything I put in my mouth and pressuring myself to work out more and harder, I ate what I wanted (within reason), and I made peace with the fact that I wouldn’t be exercising for a few days.
  2. I made time for fun. I saw two shows and even volunteered to let David Copperfield make me “disappear.” And I posed for photos with “Elvis” on the street. Sure, he was pacing and talking to himself, and I may have risked my life approaching him, but the resulting picture was worth it.
  3. I took a break. While I was there, wedding planning took a backseat, as did blogging, bill-paying and the many other things I load onto my very full plate daily.
  4. It got me away from my workplace. I admit, I let my work situation get to me way too much. But the place is freaking ridiculous.

So in addition to learning more about reaching my target audiences via Facebook and Twitter, I learned a lot about what I need last week. I need to give myself a break once in a while, because I can be pretty hard on myself. I need to make sure I spend time doing things just for fun. And I need to leave my workplace behind when I leave each evening.

In the spirit of Vegas, I’m going to be a betting woman and say it’s going to be a big—and difficult—change, but I know I can do it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

