Skip to content

So let me explain…

January 11, 2011

Last April, I got engaged to the love of my life, someone whom I quite frankly don’t know how I lived without for so many years. So, needless to say, I was thrilled when he popped the question (I’ll save the proposal details for another post). A few months later, once my eyes re-adjusted after staring at my ring non-stop, I had a thought: getting married really means I’m an adult now.

Granted I’m 30, and perhaps that should have occurred to me before the ring was slipped on my finger, but I’ve always been one of those people who felt younger than I was. While my friends were all getting married in their mid-twenties, I was still out bar-hopping, rolling my eyes at any use of “we” and living in an apartment the size of my current living room… with another person…and a cat.

So did I start turning in at 9:30 p.m. (okay, well sometimes), scaling down my wine consumption and saying things like “Oh, I’m too old for that”? Hell no! But the realization that I’m officially an adult got me thinking. An adult takes care of herself and does what’s best for her, right? If that’s the case, I’d say I’m a pre-teen or a teenager, at best.

In all material ways, I take care of myself: I have a career that pays decently, I pay my bills on time, I have food in my kitchen. But in the spiritual and mental ways, I often put others first. I’m a grade-A people pleaser. And my skills of assertion deserve an F. I’ll often overwork myself in the office or take on too much in my personal life, often foregoing what I really need – a good workout, time to read a book or do something else I enjoy, a good conversation with a friend. I let things that are said or done go without confronting them then and there, only to obsess and get angry over them later. The result of this neglect of self? I put on a lot of weight over the past three years, got myself into some financial fiascos, developed stomach problems from stress, and saw some of my relationships begin to suffer.

I’ve committed my life to my fiancé. And he deserves a happy, healthy wife who takes care of herself physically and emotionally. And, more importantly, I deserve those things.

So I’ve decided that between the wedding planning, daily work chaos and general social engagements, I’m going to add a little more to my plate (figuratively speaking—I’m actually taking food off it. See below):

  • I’m going to start exercising regularly to relieve stress, up my fitness levels and take off some of that unneeded weight (I’ll be damned if I don’t look fabulous in my gown!)
  • I’m going to become more assertive in both my personal and professional lives
  • I’m going to write more (hence, this blog), because it’s an incredible outlet for me and I love doing it
  • And I’m going to push myself to continually try new things

If you’re still reading, I hope you’ll keep coming back to hear about my adventures in becoming a real adult and heading toward the aisle in November!

One Comment leave one →
  1. DebbieG permalink
    January 14, 2011 9:17 am

    What an awesome blog. You are truly a gifted writer and I can’t wait to read more blogs.

Leave a Reply

